SATV’s embarrassing debut

I’ve been watching South Asian TV since I got home from work half an hour ago, and I have to say that I certainly hope these are opening day glitches, because if all the station’s programs are going to be in this quality, they will not be able to keep an audience.

I would post screencaps, but I have no way to capture screen shots, and I don’t want to embarrass them any more than they already should be.

The on-screen logo covers 2/3 of the width of the screen with no transparency, it’s at the top left, and it’s in Mistral, the second ugliest typeface known to man.

The audio sounds like everyone is under water, and the video looks like the station is using streaming video as the source, especially the videos that come from Sony Entertainment Television.

On the positive side, the station’s promos look and sound OK, if a little overcompressed.

I encourage them to focus on improving the technical quality of their presentation, because otherwise they have no hope.

Posted on October 1, 2010, in Up and Down the Dial and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

