KTXH fires up 20.2 and 20.3

As previously mentioned, Fox-owned KTXH channel 20 has now turned on its two subchannels, and it looks like TitanTV was right on the money.

20.2 is dark for now, pending the launch of “Movies!”

20.3 is carrying a standard-definition 4×3 “squished” version of MundoFox, which continues in HD on KUVM-CD channel 34.1.

Posted on April 2, 2013, in Rescan Alert!, Up and Down the Dial and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 41 Comments.

  1. Now I wonder if the Movies! channel will be ‘squished’. That would be a letdown. For some movies it might be terribly bad. If that ends up being the case, why even bother broadcasting it at all.

  2. The plan is for Movies! to be 16×9 in standard definition.

    And I think KTXH may have been testing last night. 20.2 and 20.3 are not present this morning.

  3. They showed up last night in Bellville, but when I turned the tv on later in the evening they were gone. Maybe it was the storm. I’ll scan later when my signal is strong again.

  4. I’m able to get 20.2 and 20.3 first one doesn’t show anything but I can see Mundo fox just fine not squished, but there’s no audio

    • It’s definitely ‘squished’, just as Bounce TV currently is. I get a good proportional picture on both channels if I temporarily set my Sony TV to ‘Wide Zoom’ for them two channels, with MundoFox filling the whole screen.
      BTW, the ‘no audio’ might have been temporary because I get audio now.

  5. Man, I hope there are going to be some good movies on this channel! Unlike the ones there playing on 20.3 MundoFox! I haven’t reconized a movie, that I know yet on that channel. KTXH has the chance to really up its game, from older movies to the more recent, come on KTXH lets play some movies, that for the majority of us, can sit and watch and enjoy!!!!!

  6. I’ve rescanned and still no sound for channel 20.3

  7. According to Wiki, the Movies! channel is planned to launch on May 27th.

  8. It’s Memorial Day after 8 a.m. and no Channel 20. 2 or 20.3. I live in the Reliant area. Rescanned channels at every angle…nothing! Are they not starting today? I’ve seen it on a few times temporarily in the past month so I know it can be picked up.

  9. There needs to be a set standard for ‘squish-o-vision’ to get a widescreen picture on a 480i signal. The Movies! channel ‘squish-o-vision’ is different than Bounce’s or Cozi’s, causing the other standard def sub-channels(2.2, 8.1, 39.2, 49.3 and 57.4) to look odd in appearance if I leave the auto-wide feature on to accommodate for ‘squish-o-vision’. Now it seems complaints need to be sent to the FCC to force a standardized, one size fits all ‘squish-o-vision’ format for those broadcasters that want to use it.

    To compensate for now I have set the manual vertical size to +4 so the other basic standard def channels don’t look quite as odd(basically stretched too wide horizontally), but then I lose a little too much off the top and bottom. My other option is having to remember to reset the screen size after watching the Movies! channel in widescreen, and I don’t care to have to do that, and the wife sure ain’t gonna remember. She strongly prefers ‘no muss, no fuss’ simplicity, as would basically anyone.

    Overall I still think ‘squish-o-vision’ is a great feature but it definitely needs to be standardized. I will be sending a detailed complaint/recommendation to the FCC this week.

  10. Chris Marek

    You have failed me KTXH… What horrible old ass movies. You must have to be on your death bed to know these movies. I should have know you were gonna make a movie channel with such old movies and alot even being in black and white!! Come on give me a break!!! I can’t believe i was waiting on this channel for so long!!

    • I don’t like the repeat of the primetime double feature movies. It’s not like they’re blockbusters truly worth seeing anyway. Overall the movies are what I expected for free over the air movies. Personally I like the old movies, including the B/W’s(have many in my personal collection). Actually looking forward to seeing Gigot with Jackie Gleason later this week. Also like Gleason’s ‘Soldier In The Rain'(also with Steve McQueen), which I do have in my collection.

  11. Yay!!! The Movies! channel is now broadcasting its ‘squish-o-vision’ in a manner that Cozi and Bounce are. Now I can watch the other 480i channels in a normal mode again and set Movies!, Cozi and Bounce to full mode.

    I did send a complaint to the Movies! channel(along with compliments) about the problem. Don’t know if that did it, but its fixed.

  12. it would be nice to get a movie newer than four or five decades old this channel sucks!!!!!

  13. Movies! channel may have fixed the problem with proper full screen view so as to not affect other channels, but some flicks seem to have the tops and bottoms chopped off. Watched ‘Picnic’ last night and half of some peoples’ heads were missing in some scenes. The Movies! channel still hasn’t got it right. Amateurs. If Cozi can do it the right way from the start, why can’t the Movies! channel?

    • I found that watching Movies! directly off-air produced the squish-o-vision effect, but if I tune to 20.2 on my TiVo, it appears in its proper 16×9 ratio. I wonder if the problem is with my set failing to recognise 16×9 standard def as a valid format (which it is).

  14. nesquik@juno.com

    I am running an htpc on Windows 7 Media Center. My program guide still does not show any listings for Movies!. Is anyone here in the same situation and, if so, have you heard anything about when we will get program guide data for this channel?

    • I have not heard anything about this.

    • I don’t use Windows Media Center, but I’d bet it uses the Rovi Guide service. You probably don’t get data for Cozi TV either. With new channels in the past it took at least 2 weeks for the Rovi TV Guide to get data for the new channels.

      • Yes, Tribune Media Services provides guide data for these channels and more. Give them a few days to get the channel data loaded.

    • I too use W7MC and still don’t get the data either. May take a while. We’ll see

  15. Movies! is back to being messed up again… Broadcasting in squish-o-vision 4:3 instead of 16:9. These clowns are worse than amateurs… More like %$@#!’s

  16. Great channel 20.2 not working, no cable, cant sleep so i enjoy 20.2

  17. Fired off another complaint to Movies! yesterday about the 4:3 broadcast and later that day it was back to 16:9 broadcast. Will it stay that way this time around? Who knows.

  18. YES I REALLY LOVE MY KTXH TV MOVIE HOUSTON TELEVISION CAN YOU BY NEXT MONTH SHOWS SOME ELVIS PRESLEY MOVIES LIKE LAIL HOUSE ROCK AND LOVE ME TENDER AND LOVING YOU

    • MARY RIGGS

      YES I WOULD LIKE TO SEE MORE MOVIES ON KTXH 20. 2 LIKE ALL ELVIS PRESLEY MOVIES I’M A BIG FAN OF ELVIS PRESLEY I PREFIRE TO WATCH ALL ELVIS PRESLEY MOVIES ALL DAY LONG AND WILL YOU PUT THE MOVIE SOUND OF MUSIC WITH JULIE ANDREWS AND THE WIZARD OF OZE WITH JULIE GARDLAND AND LASSIE AND OTHER OLD MOVIES

      • Saw that The Movies! channel did show a Paramount movie today, so I guess their movies are in play. As for MGM, Ted Turner owns the rights to all of MGM’s movie library up to mid-1986.

      • Your wish is The Movies! channel’s command. Elvis night on Friday, August 16th. Paramount releases… Blue Hawaii; Easy Come, Easy Go; and Paradise, Hawaiian Style. To catch his earlier MGM releases you might want to keep an eye on ThisTV, channel 2.2. They do show MGM movies.

    • Might be doubtful. Elvis movies were released on either Paramount or MGM by the looks of it. Fox Movies! seems to be limited to 20th Century Fox with a few Columbia(Sony) movies mixed in, though I’m not 100% sure on that.

      • brian
        I WOULD LIKE TO SEE MORE WESTERN MOVIES ON KTXH 20.2 MOVIE HOUSTON

      • DEAR BRIAN

        CAN THERE BE ANY WAY IT THAT IT CAN BE ALL ELVIS PRESLEY CHANNEL LIKE 20.2 I WOULD LIKE TO SEE THAT HAPPEN I WATCH THAT CHANNEL 20.2 ALL THE TIME NOW BUT ON THE OTHER CHANNELS THERE ARE NOTHING BUT MEXICAN CHANNELS I WOULD LIKE TO SEE THAT TAKEN OFF THE AIR AND THE FORNERS CHANNELS LIKE THE CHINEES CHANNELS TOO WE ALL DON’T UNDERSTAND THOSE CHANNELS NOT AT ALL

  19. YES I WOULD LIKE TO SEE ALL SPANISH STATIONS TO BE REMOVED OFF THE AIR AND OTHER FORNER STATIONS LIKE CHINA STATIONS TOO

  20. Movies! is now on Comcast 308.

    • HELLO KTXH CAN YOU TAKE OFF THE SPANISH STATIONS AND THE OTHER CHINEES STATIONS TOO AND PUT IN IT’S PLACE ALL ENGLISH STATION I WOULD THAT VERY MUCH IF YOU WOULD DO THAT PLEASE

    • MIKE
      THIS IS MARY RIGGS HEAR IN AT GMAIL I WOULD LIKE TOO SEE MORE OF THE CHANNELS LIKE WESTERN AND BUNCH OTHER STATIONS TAKE OFF THE SPANISH STATIONS AND PUT SOMETHING ELSE IN IT’S PLACE WILL YOU DO THAT PLEASE

  21. Pati Whetsell

    Today I found the KTXK Movies Channel and love, love, love it. I have Comcast Economy and do not get Turner Classic Movies and have really missed it. I like old movies. Thank you and thank you again.

Leave a Reply

